Election Update: Three in The Running for City Council Spot

Seats on the Chesterfield City Council, the Monarch Fire Protection District and the Rockwood and Parkway school boards are all up for election along with the position of Chesterfield Mayor.

The race is on for municipal, fire protection district and school board candidates in local elections to be held April 2, 2013.

The official filling period began Dec. 11 and will run until Jan. 15, 2013. Patch has a list of all those who have filed so far in the elections that will impact Chesterfield residents. 

Editor's Note: This article will be periodically updated as new filling information becomes available. 

City of Chesterfield

Four of seats on the Chesterfield City Council will be up for election in April, Matt Segal from Ward I, Derek Grier from Ward II, Randy Logan from Ward III and Bob Nation from Ward IV. Chesterfield Mayor Bruce Geiger's term also expires in April. Council members are elected to two-year terms while the mayor serves for four.

The following individuals have filed to run, as of Dec. 27:

  • Mayor:
  • Ward I: Adelaida Peterson
  • Ward II: Incumbent Derek Grier
  • Ward III: Dan Hurt
  • Ward IV: Bruce DeGroot, Pari Sheth, Rich Kastel

Additional information about filing for election to the Chesterfield city council can be found on the city's website or by contacting City Clerk Judy Naggier at 636-537-6716. 

Monarch Fire Protection District:

The seat of Monarch Fire Protection District board of director Kim Evans expires in April. Evans has served as a MFPD director for the past 5-1/2 years; she currently is the board president.

The following individuals have filed to run, as of Dec. 17:

  • Incumbent Kim Evans
  • Russ Lake, local businessman and member of the Monarch Citizens' Advisory Committee
  • Rick Gans, former board president

Parkway School District

Two director positions are open on the Parkway Board of Education, each for a three-year term, in the April 2013 election.  The expiring terms are for Tom Appelbaum and Dr. Sam Sciortino. The seats are not individually, instead the top two vote-getters from all the candidates will be elected to the open spots. 

The following individuals have filed to run, as of Dec. 12:

  • Sam Sciortino, incumbent
  • Annette Read
  • Jenifer Clifton
  • Tom Appelbaum, incumbent

Read this previous article on Patch for more information on the process of filing for the Parkway School Board election or contact Carol Chlanda, Parkway board of education administrative assistant, at (314) 415-8004.

Rockwood School District:

Rockwood School District's Board of Education will fill two seats, as the terms of directors Janet Strate and Stephen Banton expire in April.

Kathy Chitwood, secretary to the Rockwood Board of Education, confirmed Strate already had filed today. Strate was first elected to the board in 2004.

Banton was elected to the board in 2007.

Prospective Rockwood Board of Education candidates may file paperwork from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday at Rockwood’s Administrative Center, 111 E. North Street in Eureka. The office will be open until 5 p.m. on Jan. 15.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »